Pantone for President!

Pantone recently revealed its 2016 color of the year which for the first time was not a single color but a pair of colors; Rose Quartz and Serenity. Some people are underwhelmed by the chosen hues and they are welcome to their opinion but I ADORE both of these colors as well as the statement that is attached to a society that selects two colors that are traditionally used to represent particular genders and blurs them, creating cohesion, unity, inclusiveness and neutrality. A statement from the Executive Director of the Pantone Color Institute explains, “Joined together Rose Quartz and Serenity demonstrate an inherent balance between a warmer embracing rose tone and the cooler tranquil blue, reflecting connection and wellness as well as a soothing sense of order and peace.” Perhaps she should run for president. All I want for 2016 is connection, wellness, sense of order and peace!

I scoured the internet to learn more and be inspired by Pantone’s selection and have decided to share my absolute favorite finds with you. I personally love the colors chosen because both lend themselves to different representations. Rose Quartz, the gemstone in which the hue was inspired by has so many varying degrees of the color ranging from pale faint blush to a deep pink salmon color. I found the same could be said to describe Serenity. Serenity can most accurately be compared to a periwinkle, drawing influences from blue and purple which means it is also open to interpretation. Hope my selection of images inspire you as you welcome in the New Year!

Credits for the inspirational images are below.

pantonecoloroftheyear2016 RMEPOSTFinal Rose Quartz (2) RMEPOSTOmbre Edit 1 RMEPOSTSerenity Edit 3

Credits: (Beginning at Top from Left to Right)

  1. Rose Quartz Obelisk Mountain Witch Crown http://www.elementalchild.com/store/rose-quartz-crown
  2. Orchidee Tulle Gown via Carousel Fashion https://www.etsy.com/nz/listing/244272672/tulle-wedding-gown-orchidee-limited?ref=shop_home_active_6
  3. Image via Wedding Chicks| Photographer: Clary Photography |Florist: Sisters Flowers  http://www.sistersflowers.net/ http://www.weddingchicks.com/gallery/downtown-ballroom-wedding/?pid=106431
  4. CARTIER Diamond and Pink Quartz “Inde Mysterieuse” Rose Gold Ring http://www.1stdibs.com/jewelry/rings/cocktail-rings/cartier-diamond-pink-quartz-inde-mysterieuse-rose-gold-ring/id-j_81239
  5. Luxe Bohemia Wedding Invitation via The Lane http://thelane.com/Style-Guide/style-elements/stationery/luxe-bohemia | Stationer http://www.thelittlepress.net/
  6. Modern Tropical Wedding Inspiration |Photographer: Blush Wedding Photography http://www.stylemepretty.com/2015/07/15/romantic-spanish-inspired-wedding-inspiration/
  7. Fur Pink Jacket via @infashion.daily on Instagram http://infashiondaily.com/
  8. Romantic Spanish-Inspired Wedding | Photographer: Tamara Gruner Photography http://www.stylemepretty.com/2015/07/15/romantic-spanish-inspired-wedding-inspiration/
  9. Pink Suit from Hugo Boss Selection via http://www.gqmagazine.fr/mode/news/diaporama/matthias-dandois-un-chic-type-en-bmx/3331#-
  10. Pastel Inspired Wedding via 100 Layer Cake | Photographer: Apryl Ann Photography http://www.100layercake.com/blog/2014/07/08/pastel-succulent-wedding-inspiration/
  11. La Vie En Rose Dress via Emily Riggs Bridal | Photography: Valentina Glidden http://www.emilyriggsbridal.com/collections/gowns/products/la-vie-en-rose
  12. Inspiration via Pinterest
  13. Image via Once Wed http://www.oncewed.com/wedding-ideas/graceful-southern-wedding-inspiration/ |Gown: Samuelle Couture http://samuellecouture.com/ |Photography: Elisa Bricker http://elisabricker.com/
  14. Maggie Austin Cake http://maggieaustincake.com/ via Instagram https://www.instagram.com/maggieaustincake/
  15. Lavender French Macarons via Pinterest from http://inspiringtheeveryday.com/2011/04/08/lavender-french-macarons/
  16. DIY Oyster Shell Garland via Once Wed http://www.oncewed.com/diy-wedding-blog/diy-oyster-shell-garland/
  17. Elie Saab Perwinkle Knee Length Dress Spring 2013 Haute Couture via Pinterest| Image Source: IMAXTREE
  18. Catherine Dean Laverne Dress via Shopbop https://www.shopbop.com/laverne-dress-catherine-deane/vp/v=1/845524441933374.htm?folderID=2534374302063655&fm=other-shopbysize-viewall&colorId=11333
  19. Druzy Earrings in Periwinkle Blue Purple from 443Jewlery https://www.etsy.com/listing/191931257/druzy-earrings-in-light-periwinkle?ref=related-4
  20. Gowns: Elie Saab Haute Couture SS 2014| Photo of Esther Heesch and Katya Riabinkina backstage at Runway Show via Pinterest https://www.pinterest.com/pin/451908143835735861/
  21. Allen Edmonds Mens Shoes http://www.allenedmonds.com/
  22. Blue Suit via Roy Robson http://www.royrobson.com/en/unternehmen/ | Photo via Moncheri Bridals https://moncheribridals.com/groom-style/the-perfect-blue-for-when-you-say-i-dothe-best-blue-suits-for-men/
  23. Florist: http://www.isariflowerstudio.com/ | Photo via Apertura Photography http://www.aperturaphoto.com/blog/gorgeous_country_wedding_condors_nest_ranch_apertura_vanessa/
  24. Calligraphy/Stationery Fox and Flourish http://foxandflourish.com/ | Photographer : Maru Photography| Photo via Magnolia Rouge http://magnoliarouge.com/blue-and-gold-wedding-ideas/
  25. Art Deco Periwinkle Blue Shoes via Emmy London http://www.emmylondon.com/ | Photo via Pinterest https://www.pinterest.com/pin/217228381999874522/
  26. Elie Saab Autumn/Winter 2014 Haute Couture| Image Source: IMAXTREE http://www.popsugar.co.uk/fashion/Elie-Saab-AutumnWinter-2014-Haute-Couture-35190895#photo-35190895
  27. Royal Blue Suit: Reiss | Photography Belle and Beau Photography | Via Wedding Chicks http://www.weddingchicks.com/2015/01/20/luxurious-england-wedding/

This entry was posted in littleBLUEbook. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *